Work Safely at Heights - 1 Day

National units of competency

  • RIIWHS204D – Work Safely at Heights
  • RIIRIS201D – Conduct Local Risk Control

This competency applies to operators who are required to have the necessary practical skills and theoretical understanding to undertake work at height on a broad range of structures in differing environments across a broad variety of industries. The participant through a combination of theory and practical will gain the necessary skills and knowledge to work safely in a broad range of situations using the various types of fall protection equipment. Emergency response and heights rescue using a variety of techniques for varying situations will be covered. This unit of competence is aligned with the AS1891 with clear focus on compliance with the current codes of practice. It is also a great work at heights refresher course.

Course Content

Topics include and are not limited to:

  • Regulations and legislation
  • Codes Of Practice & Australian Standards
  • What defines ’work at height’
  • Risk assessment and hazard elimination
  • Correct use of Height Safety Equipment
  • Anchor systems, selecting solid and reliable anchorage
  • Fall restraint and fall arrest systems, selection of equipment and correct use
  • Compliance, strengths and characteristics of height safety equipment
  • Roles and responsibilities of key personnel
  • Emergency procedures including rescue
  • Correct use of ladders and ladder safety training
  • Identifying the work requirements
  • Accessing and installing equipment
  • Performing work at heights
  • Cleaning up the work area

Inclusions

Training conducted by experienced confined space and rescue specialists 
Course documentation 
Up to 8 hours classroom, practical training and assessment

Cost

Public Courses Full Day $197.00 per person. 

For Group Bookings, please contact our office 
All equipment used will be supplied by Zokal Safety Training.

Re-accreditation:

It is considered best practice to undertake refresher training every 1-3 years.

Prerequisites

There are no prerequisite units. Industry Skills Councils have mapped this course to level 2 of the Australian Core Skills Framework. It is recommended that participants provide evidence of their Foundation Skill Level prior to the commencement of the course. 

Use the Link provided to assess your Foundation Skill level. http://lln.safework.com.au/

See Student handbook for additional information.

Course Logistics

Number of Participants: 10
Requirement: Provide Unique Student Identifier (USI number) and ID
Equipment: All training materials are supplied by Zokal Safety Training
Meals: Full Day Courses – Lunch will be provided and light refreshments will be provided at morning break (only on our premises). Half Day Courses – Light refreshments will be provided at morning break (only on our premises)
Dress: Participants are required to wear clean clothing appropriate for the workplace and covered shoes. Students to bring own Gloves if they require them. All other equipment used will be supplied by Zokal Safety Training.

PARTICIPANTS MUST BE ABLE TO COMMUNICATE IN ENGLISH, AND MUST BE ABLE TO FILL OUT ALL NECESSARY DOCUMENTATION.

Assessment Methods

This is a competency based programme with progressive assessment throughout the course, including demonstration of written and oral questions relating to underpinning knowledge. Please let us know if there are any issues that your Zokal trainer should be aware of. These may include:

  • Language, Literacy and Numeracy
  • Physical limitations, such as hearing, vision or mobility concerns
  • Anything that may affect your experience in the training course

Award Issued

Nationally – recognised accreditation such as a wallet card and Statement of Attainment Certificate as outlined above will be issued on satisfactory completion of all assessments, to successful participants

Nationally Recognised Training

Apply Now

Course Dates

Please select your course date.

Start Date Classes Units Location Places left Cost
Fri 16th Nov 2018 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 1      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 30th Nov 2018 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 4      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 6th Dec 2018 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 6      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 14th Dec 2018 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 8      Cost $197.00 Apply
Wed 19th Dec 2018 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 7      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 17th Jan 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 25th Jan 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 1st Feb 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 8th Feb 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 14th Feb 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Mon 18th Feb 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 8      Cost $197.00 Apply
Mon 25th Feb 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 8      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 8th Mar 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 14th Mar 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Tue 19th Mar 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Mon 25th Mar 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 9      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 4th Apr 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 12th Apr 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 18th Apr 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Wed 24th Apr 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 3rd May 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 9th May 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Mon 13th May 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 8      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 23rd May 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 31st May 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 6th Jun 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 14th Jun 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 20th Jun 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 28th Jun 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 5th Jul 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 12th Jul 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 18th Jul 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 26th Jul 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 2nd Aug 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 9th Aug 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 15th Aug 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 22nd Aug 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 30th Aug 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 6th Sep 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 12th Sep 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 20th Sep 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 27th Sep 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 3rd Oct 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 11th Oct 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 17th Oct 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Wed 23rd Oct 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 1st Nov 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Fri 8th Nov 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply
Thu 14th Nov 2019 at 7:00AM 1 class 2 units Zokal Safety Training 10      Cost $197.00 Apply